The James Hutton Institute logoThe James Hutton Institute

This page is no longer updated. The Macaulay Land Use Research Institute joined forces with SCRI joined forces on 1 April 2011 to create The James Hutton Institute. Please visit the James Hutton Institute website.

waves - schools_intro

How to borrow a Riverbank

Are you interested in borrowing a Riverbank?

15 Dee Riverbanks have been produced all together. All of these have been gifted to schools in the Dee catchment so that the Riverbanks are kept in the places where they will be used most. The following schools have received a Riverbank so far, with two more to be delivered later in the year:

Funded by Cairngorms National Park Authority and the MacRobert Trust:
Aboyne Academy
Aboyne Primary
Ballater School
Braemar School
Crathie School
Logie Coldstone School
Tarland School

Funded by the partners of the 3 Dee Vision Project and available for borrowing by any local school by arrangement with the holding school:
Banchory Primary
Dunecht School
Finzean School
Kincardine O’Neil School
Kingswells Primary School
Strachan School

Please contact these schools in the first instance to find a Dee Riverbank that is currently available to borrow.
The 3 Dee Vision project is also currently developing a Rangers Riverbank that will be held by a number of Rangers Services across Deeside.

Tarland School’s River Dee Mural
The primary 6 and 7 children of Tarland School used their Riverbank to help them paint a mural of the River Dee (photo courtesy of Sera Irvine).
River dipping on the Dee
Adults test out the Dee Riverbank dipping equipment after the launch at Banchory.